Category «DMV Process»

Out of State Driver’s License Holders and the California DMV

Out of State Driver's License Holders and the California DMV

If you are from another state and you are arrested for DUI / DWI in California then the results may be different. If your license was issued to you by another state, California cannot take your license because it is the property of another state; however, they can still revoke, suspend or restrict your driving …

The Interstate Driver’s License Compact

The Interstate Driver's License Compact

Drivers arrested on suspicion of DUI / DWI in California face consequences both at the California Department of Motor Vehicles and in their home states, as a result of the Interstate Driver’s License Compact. The California DMV cannot revoke an out-of-state license because it is considered the property of another state. However, California can suspend a …

California DMV Driver Safety Office Locations

California DMV Driver Safety Office Locations

Los Angeles: 5801 E. Slauson Avenue, Suite 250, Los Angeles, California 90040-3050 General Information or to Make an Appointment Phone: 323-724-4000; Fax: 323-724-9262 El Segundo: 390 N. Sepulveda Boulevard, Suite 2075, El Segundo, California 90245-4470 General Information or to Make an Appointment Phone: 310-615-3500; Fax: 310-615-3581 Fresno: 2510 S. East Avenue, Suite 310, Fresno, California …

DMV Consequences for Refusals

DMV Consequences for Refusals

Under California’s implied consent law, drivers arrested on suspicion of DUI / DWI or driving under the influence of drugs (DUID) are required to submit to a chemical test to determine blood alcohol content (BAC) or signs of drug use. A driver who refuses a chemical test after a drunk driving arrest faces serious repercussions …

DMV Consequences for a Third-Offense DUI / DWI

DMV Consequences for a Third-Offense DUI DWI

Motorists arrested for three DUI / DWI offenses within 10 years face serious sanctions from the DMV. The DMV will attempt to suspend the driver’s license of multiple DUI / DWI offenders in what is known as an administrative per se (APS) hearing. Drivers arrested for DUI / DWI have only 10 calendar days to …

DMV Consequences for a Second-Offense DUI / DWI

DMV Consequences for a Second-Offense DUI DWI

Drivers arrested for multiple DUI / DWI offenses within 10 years face serious consequences at the DMV. The DMV will attempt to suspend a suspected drunk driver’s license in what is known as an administrative per se (APS) hearing. Drivers arrested for DUI / DWI have only 10 calendar days to request a DMV hearing. …

DMV Consequences for a First-Offense DUI / DWI

DMV Consequences for a First-Offense DUI DWI

Drivers arrested for DUI / DWI face two separate cases – at the DMV and in court. California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will attempt to suspend a suspected drunk driver’s license in what is known as an administrative “per se” (APS) hearing. A motorist arrested for drunk driving has only 10 calendar days to …

DMV Consequences

DMV Consequences

A driver arrested on suspicion of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) / Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in California must request a DMV administrative “per se” (APS) hearing within 10 calendar days of arrest, or risk having his or her license suspended. There are two possible outcomes to a DMV hearing. Consulting with an experienced California …

The Department of Motor Vehicles Hearing Process

The Department of Motor Vehicles Hearing Process

The Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) has what is called the burden at the hearing. They must prove by a preponderance of the evidence that the answer to the three issues/questions is Yes. The DMV hearing officer will attempt to enter the sworn statement of the arresting officer and other evidentiary documents into the record …

California Department of Motor Vehicles Hearing Issues

California Department of Motor Vehicles Hearing Issues

There are three things a DMV hearing officer must prove to suspend your license: Did the peace officer have reasonable cause to believe you were driving a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol? Were you lawfully arrested? Were you driving a motor vehicle when you had .08% or more, by weight, of alcohol …

Free WordPress Themes